An ongoing story of God's work on campus: God is real, Jesus saves, and you are loved, always.

Te[am] Iubesc: We Made It!!

Wednesday, May 18th, 2011 : Tinca,  Romania.  11:30pm

We made it!  We jumped on our plane to Budapest after I (Emily) took a SERIOUS nap on the floor of the Paris airport.  A short 2 hour flight later, we were on the ground and enjoying the beautiful weather in Budapest.  The bus ride to Tinca was accompanied by some excellent techno music, courtesy of our driver but enjoyed by all.  We arrived at our hotel and settled in, then finished our day with dinner provided by the hotel.  The pork and potatoes were delicious!

As someone returning to Romania for the second mission, this trip is already having some special importance for me.  Talking at the coffeehouse fundraiser, I made the statement that it’s easy to forget how real the lives of the kids here are.  Driving to Tinca, I realized that, in a sense, I too forget how real this world is.  It’s easy to forget that this place exists.  It’s easy to forget that these hardships are real, that poverty is real.  I think that, after our first trip, I settled back into life and accepted that the Romania trip had been an incredible experience, but not something I knew how to experience every day.  That’s something I’ll be consciously fighting both throughout and after this trip.  I think that’s something we can all fight: that ignorance is bliss, but awareness breeds change.   I can’t wait to see what this trip brings, and on top of all the anxiety and excitement, I think one word best describes my mood right now: hopeful.

Emily

One response

  1. Maggie

    Way to go, guys! Glad everybody made it safely and without trouble. I’ll be praying for your over here, and I’m looking forward to updates. Good luck and God bless!

    -Maggie Stoddard

    May 19, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Leave a Reply

