An ongoing story of God's work on campus: God is real, Jesus saves, and you are loved, always.

Senior Spotlight: Teresa England

Each and every member of Axiom holds a special place in the heart of the ministry.  Whether you are a part of the leadership team,serve on campus with us,  join us for retreats, or just worship with us Thursday nights, your presence makes a difference, and when you leave, you are missed.  We want to give our graduating seniors the opportunity to speak their wisdom into our lives, and give our underclassmen the chance to meet, and be influenced by, the students who have come before them.   (If you’re a part of Axiom and graduating this spring, please send us an email!)

  • What did you study, and why?

Sociology and Spanish. Since high school I’ve wanted to go to grad school and become a Social Worker so I can help address the needs of the growing Hispanic population in the US.

  •  How did you find Axiom, and how did God use it in your life?

I came to Axiom my Sophomore year searching for a good student ministry to get plugged into with some other girls from the Stratford House. I absolutely loved the atmosphere, the worship, and especially the love I saw this ministry had for God, each other, this campus and this world. God allowed me to join in fellowship with some amazing Christians and friends these past 2 years through this community. They always made me feel welcomed, loved, and offered plenty of opportunities to take part in worshiping, prayer, social activities and campus outreach programs like Water on Green.

  •  What are you up to now; do you have any plans in the works for the future?

I’m finishing up some classes this summer to get my degree in August. I’m still job hunting for the Fall, but I’m getting married in January, and applying to some Social Work Graduate schools for next year.

  • What will you miss most about Axiom and U of I?

I don’t know if I can pick just one thing but I’ll definitely miss the spirit-filled and hardcore rocking-out of the Axiom worship band. Those guys are pretty rad. About U of I, I’ll miss helping out with all the student organizations I was a part of.

  •  Favorite thing about campus life?

I like being surrounded by so many diverse and interesting people my own age.

  •  Words of wisdom, caution, etc?

Word of caution: avoid walking by Kam’s. Ever. It smells.

  • Biggest fear?

I have no idea where I’ll actually be in a few years. I’ve always had a “plan” for what I want to do in life, but it’s really up to God in the end. I know and have faith that he will provide for me–which is absolutely amazing and terrifying at the same time.

  •  Advice for incoming students?

GET INVOLVED!! Set out of your comfort zone and join at least one RSO on campus you can stay really involved in your whole time here. 

  •  Anything else?

I wish I could thank everyone who’s been a part of my life the last 3 years individually for helping me to grow and experience so many wonderful things. I’m so sad it’s almost over! However, I know great things are waiting for me in the future, and I can’t wait to discover what lies ahead!

Peace and love,

Teresa :), Graduated: May 2011

Leave a Reply

