An ongoing story of God's work on campus: God is real, Jesus saves, and you are loved, always.

Senior Spotlight: Rachel Small

Each and every member of Axiom holds a special place in the heart of the ministry.  Whether you are a part of the leadership team,serve on campus with us,  join us for retreats, or just worship with us Thursday nights, your presence makes a difference, and when you leave, you are missed.  We want to give our graduating seniors the opportunity to speak their wisdom into our lives, and give our underclassmen the chance to meet, and be influenced by, the students who have come before them.   (If you’re a part of Axiom and graduating this spring, please send us an email!)

“Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are His judgments and how inscrutable His ways! … For from Him and through Him and to Him are all things.  To Him be the glory forever. Amen.” – Romans 11:33, 35-36

One thing I’ve learned over my past three years of college is that God can use anything – the random, the joyful, the crazy, the mundane, the surprising, the devastating, the unexpected, anything – to bring us closer to Him. So it makes me smile that the story of how I found Axiom starts with a Frisbee.

Ryan Mathews threw it, and Taylor Pinion caught it. Taylor and I knew each other a little bit from high school, and we ended up living in the same dorm our freshman year. We’d hung out a bit, and she asked if I wanted to come canoeing with this campus ministry she’d visited a couple times. Taking off to Indiana to canoe with a bunch of people I’d never met? It sounded every bit like the kind of crazy college caper I’d anticipated so much. I showed up at the House for the first time, met a bunch of people for the first time, and, for the first time at college, felt like I’d found somewhere I could belong.

Having accomplished His purposes in leading me to Axiom via Frisbee and canoe, God began growing me in my faith my freshman year. I’d grown up a Christian and really wanted to please God, but for the first time, I was on my own – and in an environment that seemed to promote everything BUT following Jesus. In the midst of darkness like I’d never seen, God grew my love for Him. Axiom has channeled God’s love and revealed His word to me in so many ways: in Aaron’s sermons that made me think in new ways, in the Lifegroup I was in my freshman year, in times of fellowship with other women through GO, in getting to know the amazing ministers and their also-amazing families, in having wise Christians to talk to, in being given an outlet to serve, in being encouraged to pursue my gifts in ridiculous video production, in having community.

Axiom has been a really important part of my life for the past three years. When life got crazy and it felt like I had so little to give, every time I walked in the front door (or the side doors, for that matter) I felt like I was loved, accepted, and wanted there.

God has used Axiom for so many of His amazing purposes in my life. It’s where I met Joe, an incredible man of God who will become my husband not too long from now. I’ve made so many great friends, had so many good memories, been served in so many ways, and have been humbled to serve in what God is doing with Axiom.

And in the end, it’s not about the things that God has used  and is using to be glorified in my life and on our campus. It’s not about the Frisbee, or the canoe trip, or the amazing worship, or the great sermons, or the friendships. These things are beautiful because they point toward a beautiful God. It’s about Him – and Axiom is so valuable in that it willingly, passionately seeks to carry out God’s purposes.

From here, everything changes. I won’t be a college student any longer. I’ll work… somewhere… God willing. I’ll get married in September. I’ll move from being immersed in college ministry to serving in the local church. I’d love your prayers for these things – that God would lead me (and Joe!) well and be honored in every decision.

To him be the glory forever.

It’s been a blast.

A whole bunch o’ love,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

