An ongoing story of God's work on campus: God is real, Jesus saves, and you are loved, always.

Senior Spotlight: Emily Garrison

Each and every member of Axiom holds a special place in the heart of the ministry.  Whether you are a part of the leadership team,serve on campus with us,  join us for retreats, or just worship with us Thursday nights, your presence makes a difference, and when you leave, you are missed.  We want to give our graduating seniors the opportunity to speak their wisdom into our lives, and give our underclassmen the chance to meet, and be influenced by, the students who have come before them.   (If you’re a part of Axiom and graduating this spring, please send us an email!)

I came to the University of Illinois as a transfer student in the fall of 2009. It was always “in the plan” that I would go to the local community college for two years and save some money before going to U of I. The animal science program was what drew me; it’s the best one in the Midwestern states. After graduation I would go to U of I’s vet school and life would start from there. Beyond this plan I had no expectations.

My community college allowed me to live at home and become further attached to my family, so the transition of moving away from them was very hard on me. I knew I wanted to find a campus ministry to plug in to, but never imagined it could have turned out like it did. My suite-mate brought me to Axiom at the very beginning of Welcome Week and I was immediately comfortable with both the students and staff. I felt a connection with God there that I hadn’t felt anywhere else. During that first semester at Axiom, I found a new home and a new family, and God began working in my life like never before. At the start of my senior year I became part of the leadership team, and fell in love with serving people.

I was not accepted into veterinary school, but that’s ok. I have a much stronger faith now, and believe that whatever God wants me to do he will guide me towards it. “The plan” now is to simply follow.

My advice for those of you who are new to the ministry, or thinking about becoming a part of Axiom, is to invest in the ministry and the people there. When I began investing in them, they began pouring back into me to an extent that I never dreamt was possible. The more you invest, the more you will be filled, and the friendships you form will change your life.

I know I will miss Axiom, but I will be living in the Champaign area, for a few years at least, after graduation, so I’ll still be around occasionally.

Much Love!

Emily Garrison, Graduated: May 2011


Leave a Reply

